Our Joshua Generation

Bro Kenny Song
28 October 2018

We have just reached a new landmark. Someone recently told me he was surprised that TOP is already 40 years old. We should indeed REJOICE! for God’s goodness and faithfulness for taking us through the last 40 years. I am thankful to Him.

Do you know what stood out for me at the Anniversary Celebration? Many of those involved in the performances were not even born when TOP was formed.

The Sunday School children were awesome with their percussive rendition of “We Love Jesus”.

And what can I say about our Youth and Young Adults? I for one knows the amount of practice they went through, because Josephine would often tell me she will be in church for practice after work.

And Sis Kobe is also a Millennial, those born after 1981 who rendered a Mandarin song.

And last but not least Wan Direction. That’s the only performance that has an old man. But young at heart la. Bro Jacob is an evergreen.

This morning, I want to talk about something that is close to my heart. Young people. We often hear that they are the next generation of the church. But I believe they are the Now Generation!

Please give me some time for me to talk about the young people before I talk to the young people.

Millennials are all those that are born after 1981. That is just after TOP was formed. They have been given a lot of bad press by the older generation, especially those in management as being lazy, impatient and have a sense of entitlement.

I know someone my age who calls all these young people young cikus. And he make statements some of us older folks may be guilty of. “I’ve eaten more salt than you have eaten rice”. All I can say is stop eating so much salt, it’s bad for you!

We have many young talents in our company. And I can testify that it is unfair to make such blanket statements. Some of them have just started working, fresh graduates, and I can say they are talented, disciplined, responsible and highly motivated.

But they are different. My question to all of us older folks is this. Why is it bad that they are different?

I remember my dad used to tell me…when I was your age…a phrase parents often tell their children. Well, we lived in a different kind of world when we were their age, so how can we compare?

I’m on KDU’s Advisory Board for their School of Mass Comm and School of Architecture & Design. We meet twice a year to help formulate their syllabus relevant to the industry. And one of our challenges is to examine how we can engage and relate to the young students.

Also, because I am in the Advertising industry, we have to learn how to reach these young consumers. What worked for my generation no longer work for them. They are different. How are they different?

Here’s what I found different about the millennials.

They’re not into buying things. They buy experiences. 

My generation takes pride in owning things. Whether it’s your Music Album collection or Books. I used to collect even magazines. I still have every issue of National Geographic from since 1983! And your Lead Pastor has cabinet walls filled with books. I am glad she has embraced eBooks so no more shelf space needed. We tend to buy things.

But the millennials stream music and movies instead. They don’t have to “own” them. They subscribe. After all, it’s just to listen or watch. That’s buying experience. It’s cheaper, takes up zero space and no depreciation. That’s a good thing.

And the fastest growing companies reflect that culture. Uber don’t own a single vehicle. Airbnb don’t own a single room and Alibaba don’t own a single product they sell. They all meet a need without the burden of ownership. That’s a good thing.

Our generation slog to own a car, then a house and when their children have completed their studies…travel.

Millennials today travel much more than we ever did. Why? They’re buying experiences. At a physical condition that allows them to better enjoy their travels. They do their homework, buy cheap fares, scout out bargain stays and with their smartphones, travel the world. Why pay travel agents?

As for managing them at the workplace, you need to understand them first. They dislike being bossed. They want to be led. The problem is many employers expect the young recruits to tow the line and follow company rules. Working long hours are no longer a reflection of a productive employee.

Millennials are often driven by the passion they find in their work. And they produce their best work when they are given room to express themselves. 

Fan that flame and they do extraordinary stuff. Why? It’s part and parcel of the experiences they buy into. I have had the privilege to bring on board some of these young talents and they surprises me. It’s a privilege to mentor these talents because they are hungry to learn and not being technology-shy, they have huge resources they can tap into.

The reason I said this is close to my heart is because my circle of friends my age or even younger have often made negative comments about young people.

I have the privilege of being involved in Youth Impact and I think we have awesome young people at TOP! We need to know how to connect with them because whether you like it or not, these are the ones who will take our world to the next level. And that’s a good thing.

That was my introduction.

Why am I looking at the younger generation today? We have just concluded our 40th Anniversary and it’s a real milestone for TOP. 40 is a significant number in the Bible. If you had read Pastor Gideon’s congratulatory message, you’ll understand why.

It was 40 years before the children of Israel entered their Promise Land. It is ironic that all those who were in the wilderness heading towards the Promise Land never entered it. Moses included.

In the past, TOP called the Sunday School, the Joshua Generation. How many of you remembered that? Well, the Joshua Generation back then are now parents.

Bro Alvin is one of them. Bro Allan was sharing on Wednesday night how at age 55, he passed the baton on to Alvin. How blessed that three generations served the Lord in their family. He can truly say, “as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord”.

We see that in TOP. Father and sons serving together. Mother and sons. Father and daughter.

Bro Jacob and his sons up here. Sis Grace and his sons also. Bro Justin and Michelle. And we have young people like Woan Sein, Terrence and Theresa worship leading.

I want us to now look at a passage of scripture in Joshua chapter one. What I said just now was addressed towards people my generation.

But now, I want to ask our young people, young meaning all those 40 and below or those born after TOP to look carefully at this passage.

You are part of that Joshua Generation ready to claim your Promised Land… flowing with milk and honey… with more than enough to share and bless others.

Joshua 1:1-8 fills me with an incredible, never-ending expectation. 

God’s Commission to Joshua
1 After the death of Moses the servant of the Lord, it came to pass that the Lord spoke to Joshua the son of Nun, Moses’ assistant, saying: 2 “Moses My servant is dead. Now therefore, arise, go over this Jordan, you and all this people, to the land which I am giving to them—the children of Israel. 3 Every place that the sole of your foot will tread upon I have given you, as I said to Moses. 4 From the wilderness and this Lebanon as far as the great river, the River Euphrates, all the land of the Hittites, and to the Great Sea toward the going down of the sun, shall be your territory. 5 No man shall be able to stand before you all the days of your life; as I was with Moses, so I will be with you. I will not leave you nor forsake you. 6 Be strong and of good courage, for to this people you shall divide as an inheritance the land which I swore to their fathers to give them. 7 Only be strong and very courageous, that you may observe to do according to all the law which Moses My servant commanded you; do not turn from it to the right hand or to the left, that you may prosper wherever you go. 8 This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate in it day and night, that you may observe to do according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success.

I strongly encourage you to bookmark and highlight these 8 verses in your smart phone, tablet, note pad or whatever tool you are using. Refer to these verses frequently… get them embedded in your spirit.

I’m going to run through these verses one at a time.

Verse 1 After the death of Moses the servant of the Lord, it came to pass that the Lord spoke to Joshua the son of Nun, Moses’ assistant, saying:

Verse 2 “Moses My servant is dead. Now therefore, arise, go over this Jordan, you and all this people, to the land which I am giving to them—the children of Israel. 

A new chapter is about to unfold in the lives of the children of Israel.  The leader they knew…the deliverer they followed… is dead… but the promise, the vision is not.

Never base your pursuit of a vision on the man or woman of God who taught it but on our great God who promised it.

Our Lead Pastor and Associate Pastor already qualify for senior citizen discount already. They are god-sent and over the last year, have led TOP into a new era. Pastor Koay has developed our TOP Blueprint, which Pastor Melinda confirmed it’s in line with our AG vision.

They have worked closely with the Care Group leaders and Ministry Heads but at the end of the day, the promise God has for TOP, the vision remains long after they go. We have had pastors come and go, but the church remains. And you are the church. Every one of you who have committed yourself to this local body. Young people, take TOP to its next level, not by might, nor by power but by His Spirit!

Immediately after declaring that the leader they have always looked to is dead, God says ARISE! According to Strong’s Concordance the Hebrew word for arise means:

“to rise up, to arise, to become powerful, to come on the scene”

When God says, “Arise”….it means start moving forward… the thing you desire…. the thing you’ve been believing for.

When you move forward in faith… you move with our great God Jehovah’s blessings.

In other words… get up and get going.  Do something… stop talking and start pursuing His promises.

Then the verse tells the children of Israel where to go to get the inheritance they’ve been promised.

God’s Word reveals to us every day… where He wants us to go to manifest… the promises He has given to us. He wants us to pursue with passion the inheritance He’s promised us as well.

I rejoice that some of our young people have stood up and got going. Even the recent Missions trip to Sarawak, we had equally both the young and younger. It is a wonderful thing and it shows us TOP has a bright future and today is just the beginning.

There is also a very powerful transition in Joshua 1:2.

“Moses my servant is dead; now therefore arise, go over this Jordan”

There is more than a shift of leadership taking place here. . .the Children of Israel are about to move from the promises of God leaving the sin of the past behind… and move into possessing the Promised Land.

I believe that’s where we are… ready to move from the promises of God to manifesting and possessing the blessings of God.

That is one of the promise Pastor Ronald proclaimed for TOP. Possessing the future. And I strongly belief it is God that will bring it to pass.

Get ready… take a stand… move from the promises to the Promised Land.  It’s time to “go over” and take what God has given us.

It’s time to leave the past behind and move into the new things God has in store for us.

It’s time to leave behind the old way of thinking and doing things as we embrace the new things God wants to do in our lives.

Verse 3 Every place that the sole of your foot will tread upon I have given you, as I said to Moses.

God is telling Joshua it’s time to possess what He’s given to the children of Israel.

That’s where we are today. God wants each of us to possess the promises He has declared for us.

We are the Lighthouse. That has always been TOP’s call. We are to live as Jesus tells us to live in Mark 16:15-20 which says:

Mark 16:15, 20 
15 He said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to all creation.
20 Then the disciples went out and preached everywhere, and the Lord worked with them and confirmed his word by the signs that accompanied it.

These are the works of JESUS that we are supposed to be about!

Before the children of Israel entered the Promised Land they were following miracles but now miracles are following them.

Let me say that again.

Before the children of Israel entered the Promised Land they were following miracles but now miracles are following them.

Verse 4 From the wilderness and this Lebanon as far as the great river, the River Euphrates, all the land of the Hittites, and to the Great Sea toward the going down of the sun, shall be your territory.

We serve a God who is very specific. He gives very detailed instructions to the children of Israel.  He has a choice piece of real estate picked out for them.

“Every place that the sole of your foot shall tread upon, that I have given unto you…”

God has given us a dominion over every place our feet tread.

When you walk into any environment… you are on holy ground. Right now, God has placed us at Jelutong. And where we are now is Holy Ground.

As we journey through this life… we need to fully understand that everywhere our feet tread is holy ground because of the God we serve.

Young people, do not feel inadequate. This realization will bring a boldness in every situation you face and opportunity you receive.

Remember the words of the song “Holy Ground” that we sing?
“We are standing on holy ground,
For I know that there are angels all around.
Let us praise Jesus now,
For we are standing in his presence on holy ground”.

Wherever you are, here in Jelutong, your work place, your classroom, that café… you bring God’s presence with you and it will impact those that are around you.

Verse 5 No man shall be able to stand before you all the days of your life; as I was with Moses, so I will be with you. I will not leave you nor forsake you.

First, in Gods eyes, He sees no one capable of having dominion over you. Greater is He that is in you…

Let that soak in for a minute… God does not see anyone who has the ability of having authority or dominion over you.

Second, this promise is not only good for the immediate future… but as far as God is concerned this promise is good for as long as you live.

Third, God backs up His statement by promising to always be there… to back you up.

Do you remember something God delivered you from? Well…if He delivered you before… He can surely do it again. He has a grip on you.

Isaiah 41:10 
Fear not, for I am with you;
Be not dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you,
Yes, I will help you,
I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’

Verse 6 Be strong and of good courage, for to this people you shall divide as an inheritance the land which I swore to their fathers to give them.

According to Strong’s Concordance the Hebrew word for courage means:

“to be strong, alert, courageous, brave, bold, to be determined, strengthen oneself, to persist in”

Strength is a component of courage but courage is not necessarily a part of strength.

Let me say it another way… courage means having the strength to do something despite being afraid.

I remember when the call came for our Pastors to say yes, it took courage. How do you become courageous? The same way you become strong… by reading, speaking and acting on the Word of God.

When you become totally committed to trusting and living God’s Word there won’t be anything or anyone who can keep you quiet about it.

People don’t lack strength so much as they lack the courage to do something with what they’ve got.

Moving into your Promised Land means you might have to fight some giants… but you are not alone. Joshua saw opportunities. And I want to encourage our young people, the opportunities are there for you to step forward and do exploits for the Kingdom of God.

Verse 7 Only be strong and very courageous, that you may observe to do according to all the law which Moses My servant commanded you; do not turn from it to the right hand or to the left, that you may prosper wherever you go.

But there is a catch. And the last two verses are what I want to impress on our young people. God wants our obedience to His divine instructions more than anything else.

1 Samuel 15:22
But Samuel replied: “Does the Lord delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices as much as in obeying the Lord?
To obey is better than sacrifice, and to heed is better than the fat of rams.

As we travel this journey called life… do we hesitate, question or worse… doubt the promises of God.

Our obedience to His instructions is proven when we move forward without fear or doubt.

In other words…

Joshua 1:7 in the New Century Version says:
“Be strong and brave. Be sure to obey all the teachings my servant Moses gave you. If you follow them exactly, you will be successful in everything you do.”

God doesn’t want you successful in some things… He wants you successful in everything you do.

Verse 8 This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate in it day and night, that you may observe to do according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success.

It’s clear that we’re to study the Word of God… not just on Sundays… or when times get tough… or when there’s trouble. Putting the Word to action within us is a continual process. It is to be an integral part of our talk and our walk.

This is an area I am most concerned about. All of us need teaching. I would not have done well in my field of work if I do not research and learn. I would have continued being a serial plant killer if I have not joined a gardening group where I learned how to care for them.

More so in the Word of God. We have an excellent Pastor/Teacher in Pr Koay and next year, he will be working with Sis Esther in looking at how to make available Global University’s excellent courses to our members. I encourage you to consider that. Both me and my wife attended 7 years of his Doctrines of the Bible classes and I can tell you they are solid teaching.

As we continually read and study the Word of God… we’re investing into our spirit man. Young people, you will find the road ahead in life will have challenges. Temptations.

The word of God is key to helping us make good choices. Or rather, I call it godly choices.

One of our young people here had a career opportunity to really go far and reap good financial rewards down South but after praying about it and confiding in some leaders, he decided to stay in Penang because he felt God’s call to serve here.

Another example is Josephine. I hope you don’t mind me sharing this, but she was telling me how she now understands why God wanted her to stay in Penang when she was struggling whether there would be greater opportunities in KL. In her own words, “I know in my heart why I am here. To serve my King”. You see how she has been serving and she’ll be signing up for Water Baptism today! PTL!

These are our very own young people making godly decisions.

In the daily situations of life… our response in every circumstance will be determined by the abundance of the Word that’s in our hearts that’s ready to flow out of our mouths.

I know our passage ends at verse 8, but I thought it’s good we end with verse 9.

Now young people, say it with me. All the rest of us, let’s confess it with them.

Joshua 1:9
Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

Joshua and his generation were allowed to enter, conquer and inhabit the Promised Land.

The generation of Joshua were those who would enter the Promised Land without the bondages of the past.

In many ways… the generation of Joshua was a type and shadow of the church today. And our young people are an integral part of this church today. Not tomorrow. God is calling you, you and you to move into the fullness and promises of His Word.

Our 40th Anniversary, is the opportune time for our young people to RISE UP! I’d like our Lead Pastor to pray for our Joshua Generation. That God would indeed call and equip them for the work of the Ministry and take TOP further as we fulfill the call of God for this church. Amen!

Pastor Melinda and the congregation praying for our youths and young adults.

Leave a comment